never curse the wind

Posted: November 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

Never curse the wind or waste a fine woman . This phrase popped into my head as I lit up the laptop to begin another evening of writing the new novel. It’s still tonight, devoid of even the slightest hint of a breeze, humid and quiet except for the trilling of crickets that provides an underpinning to every tropical night I’ve ever known. I’ll never complain about the heat or the humidity, not coming from where I do. I have enough cold miserable winters behind me to freeze the words right out of your mouth.

Why do you travel? Anyone who reads my books will ascertain why I prefer to drift. But everyone has their own drivers, mine just happens to be soul driven. I’m learning to be more comfortable speaking the Thai vocabulary we need to get along here. The Thai love it when you speak a little, they respond with genuine bemusement. I say this because Bangkok is a great place to learn new tricks. There are probably more than a few one act ponies who’d  like to graft a new skill onto their repertoire. Traveling is cathartic, a g-spot to bring the mind and spirit to orgasm. It’s not you who gets to where you’re going , it’s who you want to be that steps off the plane, it may be a stranger who leaves.

 

Leave a Reply

