took a swim to the corner store

Posted: January 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

The Bangkok haze is thick with excess precipitation. It’s more like having your face over a boiling pot of water. My glasses fogged up as soon as I hit the street. Walking to the corner  reminded me of a ride I took on the Lady of the Mist under the Niagara Falls. I went out for an ice cream cone to cool down, it didn’t work. By the time I’d walked the short block home I was wet with the humidity and a good dollop of my own perspiration. The exercise did me good as I had developed writers ass and need to walk it off. The 9 baht I spent on the cone was wasted. A positive development is that the water in the swimming pool has warmed to a spring like Caribbean temperature making it just the few degrees cooler than the outside air necessary for  a very pleasant respite from the heat. A common mistake  farang make who come here for the first time is to start the cycle of drinking beer etc to try and beat the heat.  Don’t forget the alcohol is a diuretic and dehydrates the body faster than a beer can be swilled. The process becomes a virtuous circle of headache, cramping and constant urination. Many foreigners come to Thailand as alcoholics but others become alcoholics by trying to navigate the strange social waters and the heat. The drinking becomes more drinking. This is so common here that many Thai’s assume that every foreigner is a drunk. There is no magic bullet for the heat. The grocery stores shelves are full of competing products for hydration and prickly heat, not to mention every variety of cheap alcohol. The Thai’s are not immune, all you can do is adjust. Time on the ground will assist in acclimatizing you for the conditions. Dress appropriately and choose your battles wisely. Take me as an example. I look like I just took a swim to the corner store.

Leave a Reply

