On a recent trip to Europe I was impressed at how established the bicycle was in the everyday lives of people. So much so that these innocuous vehicles are often left by the side of the road in stacks unused as viable community conveyances. One of the things that stops people from using bicycles in Canada for many months a year is the inclement weather. I found that in Europe that this impediment is not universal. There are instances of people using bicycles in every weather, even in the snow. I remember an interview with Bob Dylan where he advised us to stop talking for a second and observe the street corner we were on, “Because we might never be here again”. Those words stuck with me and I try to remain observant of every detail in my daily life, taking nothing for granted. Life is a gift, don’t deny it.

Tempere Finland

the timeless streets of Paris

Tallinn Estonia

Helsinki Finland

Brussels Belgium

Amsterdam Netherlands

another ‘Bridge of Sighs’

Amsterdam

Amsterdam

Comments
  1. patricemj says:

    Love the original vagabond. Impressions take time and patience and a stillness of mind to appreciate. Seems we need to work at this these days. Unless we’re old, oldish, older 🙂

    These photos are wonderful? Did you take them? The one time I was in Europe I was so enchanted by the existence of bikes, they were everywhere, pooling.

    • I did take all the photo’s. Some with a cell cam….most a D40 Nikon…..I had an old Nikkor FT2 on many wanders. Over the years my archive has been building . the blog gives me an opp to share the images…… I like the visual of ‘pooling bicycles’…..good one:)

  2. Homepage says:

    I believe that a simple and unassuming manner of life is greatest for everybody, greatest both for the body and the mind. 554386

  3. nettilaina says:

    This design is spectacular! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almostHaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool! 778887

Leave a Reply

