A country that was once a far away dream has become a place  in my heart. The fact that Finland requires the visitor to discover the land and the people on their own terms is endearing. I like to be left alone to discover rather than be herded around by a guidebook itinerary.

the central plaza of tempere covered by a thick sheet of ice

a sudden snowfall traps a bicycle

the wilds of levi in the far north of lappi

reindeer butt heads outside my window

a winter sprite plays his delightful games on a stream’

the finns are profoundly spiritual

helsinki architecture can be solemn

helsinki railway stattion

two figures that dominate

cathedrals easy to get lost in

each lock represents a wish

she mans the gate

early morning exercise

Comments
  1. Sarah Garvey says:

    Great photos, recently back from Helsinki myself. I’m not used to any snow so it quite the experience!

    • I was absolutely delighted at what I found in Finland. You definatley have to dress for the weather. However, Finland is seasonal and there are many elements of the landscape and culture revealed to the observant traveler during these periods.

  2. Sartenada says:

    Extraordinary photos from Finland! Thank You.

    • I’m glad you liked the photo’s. I found Finland to be a ‘subject rich’ environment for photography. The more I looked, the more I found. Disneyland it is not…..I liked that a lot.

  3. auntyuta says:

    These photos are absolutely beautiful. I really liked to look at them. Thanks for publishing. I’m glad I found your blog. Have to look at some of your other blogs asap.

  4. auntyuta says:

    I read your comment about the modern way of taking pictures as opposed to what it was like in the past. I feel the same way about this. I can remember when we had to restrict the taking of pictures to a certain amount because of the expense of buying films. These days even the printing of pictures comes cheap. We can get pictures printed for 10c each at K-Mart!

    • Digital is the only way to go unless you’re a ‘purist’ and still use a dark room for effects and nostalgia. But…knowing the Photoshop program as I do vicariously through a few of the artists around me I can say that every darkroom technique I have ever seen can now be simulated through the software.

Leave a Reply

