waking in a dream

Posted: April 6, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

i rode the back of an ant

along the cool forest floor

spied a butterfly and i chanced to soar

up to the canopy to have a look around

i danced and i sang

with my hand on my heart

i pledged and i swore

that i would learn to fly

the rustle of the leaves

and the song birds trill

told me of a garden

that lay beyond the hills

i wished and i hoped

that i would grow wings

i danced and i sang

with my hand on my heart

i pledged and i swore

that i would learn to fly

in that very instant

i was back on the ground

in the middle of a conference

of ants and snails,  lizards and snakes

representatives of everything

inhabiting the earth

“we walk when we dream

this is always how it was”

said an elder mole who had risen from below

he was covered in dirt looking happily so

“you must learn to live

with the fact of what you are

and leave to dealing with the sky to the eagles

and the stars”

‘but my garden’ i plaintively said

faltering in my step

i was really rather childish

insisting on my path

“we will form up a column”

said the king of the dirt

“think of all the fascinating things

we’ll see along the way”

the journey took days

instead of minutes had i flown

we were exhausted and and threadbare

when we spied a forest throne

in the garden i had spied

and i danced and i sang

with my hand on my heart

i pledged that i’d never again

deny who i am

that i was born to wander

on my feet not with wings

not a bird

just a man

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

